Harvest Salad

Being the greens lover that I am, I could probably eat salads year round and be pretty content. But there are a few days when it’s cold and windy outside and I just want to have something that tastes like fall. I want a little more richness and hearty flavours and less light citrus and berries {now I’m daydreaming about summer salads on the patio: withdrawals are mad real at the moment}.

As I was browsing Pinterest the other day, I came across all these recipes for “Harvest Salads”: a heartier, fall-approved version of a classic summer meal. By incorporating different varieties of squash and grains, you get more of a full-flavoured bowl that tastes amazing, especially when you add a little bit of acidity with a vinaigrette dressing. I had to try my own version ASAP.

This was also the very first time I have ever cooked with couscous. My mind is BLOWN. It was potentially the easiest thing I have ever cooked. Easier than a box of Kraft dinner {because even the nutrition junkies gotta get their KD fix every now and then…or maybe that’s just me}. It took me exactly 5 minutes from start to finish. Never again can I complain about not having time to cook food.

To add to the theme of lazy dinners, I didn’t even cut my own squash. I was at the grocery store and found these great little containers of pre-cut squash. Which is excellent seeing how my last show down with a butternut squash ended in my almost losing a finger {okay that’s dramatic, but never cut with dull knives people!}. This is potentially the easiest meal to throw together. And it looks so fancy and colourful – when your friends ask how long you slaved away on your beautiful meal, you can embellish a bit…I won’t tell.

Harvest Salad

Makes 2 servings {or about 4 sides}

Ingredients:

Salad:

  • 1 – 12 oz. package pre-cut butternut squash
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Cracked black pepper
  • ½ cup uncooked couscous
  • 1 medium apple
  • ¼ cup parsley
  • ⅛ cup feta, crumbled

Dressing:

  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1.5 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. honey

How to Make It:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  1. Place cubed butternut squash in a bowl and toss with olive oil and pepper. Pour onto baking sheet, spreading cubes out evenly, and roast in oven for 45 minutes. Set aside to cool.
  1. While squash is roasting, cook couscous according to package instructions. Allow it to cool in the refrigerator.
  1. Whisk dressing ingredients {olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and honey} together in a small bowl.
  1. Slice apple into small cubes and place in a large bowl. Roughly chop parsley and add to bowl with apples.
  1. Add cooled couscous and squash to apple mixture. Pour dressing over and mix thoroughly. Enjoy!

xo

Britney

One thought on “Harvest Salad

Share your thoughts...